Keeping a journal or diary is more than just a way to document my experiences and record my thoughts. Writing journal is one of my stress relief exercise to reap both physical and emotional benefits.

I was told to let out my emotions through expressive writing to reduce anxiety, depressive symptoms and reduce the amount of undesirable behavior that I do, too. Based on study, published in Behavior Modification, showed that expressive writing was associated with significant decreases in generalized anxiety disorder symptoms, including worry and depression.

Keeping My Stress-Relief Diary

  • Allows me to sort out and clarify my thoughts and emotions
  • Lets me reflect upon my life’s journey by looking back at past journal entries
  • Gives me time to reflect about my feelings and emotions so that I can better understand them
  • Provides an outlet for expressing difficult emotions, such as anger and frustration, without hurting someone I love
  • Can be a way to release my negative thoughts and emotions so that I can move on to a happier state of mind.

Other Methods of Expression

Beside keeping a diary, I’ve try other avenues for stress relief:

  • SPEAK OUT. Sharing my thoughts and my feelings with a trusted friend, family member, and therapist.
  • LISTEN TO MUSIC. The Power of music to reduce stess. The soothing power of music is well-established. It has a unique link to our emotions, so can be an extremely effective stress management tool. Listening to music can have a tremendously relaxing effect on our minds and bodies, especially slow, quiet classical music.

Relaxing music video link:

 

  • ….
  • ….

Examining my thoughts, my feelings and my internal experiences. I’m using reflective writing so that I can receive mental and emotional clarity, validate experiences and come to a deeper understanding of myself.

May 9, 2017. Friday…. 

Anxiety attack.. a relapse

to be continue…….

3 thoughts on “Journal My Way to Stress Relief

  1. 1st panic attack early January 2014,an unexpected gift for my birthday. I lost my only sister who was very close and dear to me a month before that. My life changed to almost 360° degree… I wouldn’t say i am exaggerating but that was what happened and days,weeks,months followed with more overwhelming and ‘fascinating’ episodes.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

